贏家的口頭禪(1) 

 

「態度決定高度」,在某小學的牆上掛著另一條標語「正向地思考」。在之前的文章中,我說過正向的思考是可以通過訓練得到的,也列舉了多個例子。有一部名為「秘密」的錄像很好地演繹了這一點——多思考、多夢想,或經常寫下心中的願望,有一天夢想終會成真。心中所想,會有一種吸引力的能量。
  語言和思想都是能量和波。心理學家MeijuanCai說:「一個人的思想會吸引同樣的事情和同質的信息,每件事都有多個角度,所以如果你的思想集中在成功上,便很容易去除挫折和失敗,而你會離成功越來越近。」
  許多成功的創業家和首席執行官在接受採訪時被問道他們的口頭禪是甚麼,以及是否起到作用。他們的回答都是正面的。所以,第一步,要建立你自己的積極的口頭禪,經常提醒自己,它便會成為你的思想;第二步,每當緊張工作的一天結束後,如果你停留在「我好累啊」的想法上,這會散佈悲觀情緒,產生消極影響。如果你積極樂觀地面對,對自己說:「下一次會好些」,或者「明天又將是新的一天」,或者「我是被祝福的」,將有助打消負面想法。
  本文中我將和大家分享一些成功人士使用的積極口頭禪,希望用這些例子來轉變我們的態度:
  1.「你看見有空椅子嗎?「(Jeff指著椅子),這句話是亞馬遜創始人Jeff Bezos的口頭禪。每當引進一個新項目時,很多人會說:「我們能再評估一次嗎?」而Jeff用這句話來提醒產品經理,這些空椅子代表消費者。他提醒員工要關注消費者的需求,付出超越預期的努力。這句口頭禪幫助亞馬遜度過了2000年的互聯網泡沫、2008年的經濟危機,在消費者服務領域取得了許多前所未有的成績。
  2.「管他的,讓我們去做吧!」是維京集團(Virgin Group)的創始人的口頭禪,該集團擁有400多家公司。面對一個新的風險投資項目,在做了認真、可行的評估後,他會不顧反對意見,以開放的心態抓住機會。這種態度幫助他拓展了從健身俱樂部到太空旅遊的生意。
  3.通常當你的決定受到別人質疑時,你會固執地維護自己:「我錯在哪兒?」蘋果創始人Steve Jobs面對挑戰和質疑時,用一種被激怒的語氣反問說:「證明給我看錯在哪兒?」,以此來提升對專業的熱愛和激發全體員工的士氣,設定新產品的遊戲規則。
  按照芝加哥心理學教授Sian Beilock博士的研究結果,經常使用積極口頭禪的學生的分數高於愛使用消極說法的學生,因為類似「我好緊張」「我做不了」一類消極的說法會占據大腦的記憶內存,他會產生消極的荷爾蒙,使人的情緒更加低落。
  作為一名教育工作者,每當學生提出與專業學習無關的問題,我們應該試著不要馬上說「不」。即便是有些問題看起來非常不合理,或需要費很多時間來解決,我們還是要給出學生討論的空間,盡量滿足他們的需求。不要立即拒絕他們的要求,可以稍等一下,思考一下,我們是馬上回答問題,還是稍後用郵件或臉書Facebook的方式回復。對於學生們提出的數學或英語問題,會用Facebook儘快給出答案,營造一種鼓勵提問的氣氛。現在,為鼓勵學生們培養好的學習態度,要盡量即時回答他們的提問,把他們的思維引向正確的方向以提升自主性的學習意願。當學生們忘記做家庭作業,或在考試中犯了粗心的錯誤時,「不要找藉口」是我們常用的口頭語,這樣才能培養學生的責任感和仔細檢查功課或試卷的習慣。
  2011年,一位神秘的億萬富翁SaitōHito在過去的12年中總共繳納了超過1.2億美元的稅金,他寫了一本書探討為甚麼貧窮有千萬個理由,而富有只有一個理由。他分享了致富的關鍵,「只要認為自己快樂,在這一刻你就可以成為一個快樂的人」,「只要去做,沒有甚麼是不可能的」,「我非常富有」。一位成功的地產經紀人和我分享了他在度過難關時常用的口頭語:「上帝對我很恩寵。」
  口頭禪是實現自我夢想的預言。負面的口頭禪充滿消極信息,並導致失敗,而積極的口頭禪則會帶領你在幸福和成功的道路上走很遠。在下一篇文章中,我將和大家分享一些贏家口頭禪的案列。◇

  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

Copyright ©2019. SuperKids e-Tutoring - Montreal, QC, Canada

Winning Catchphrases I

 

“Attitude determines altitude.” Another slogan posted on the wall of an elementary school is “think positively.” In a previous article I mentioned that positive thinking can be trained and gave various examples of ways to do so. A viral video online titled “Secret” promotes extreme examples of this – write your wishes down and think about them as often as possible and one day they will come true. It is like the power of attraction.  

Words and thoughts areenergyand waves. Psychologist MeijuanCai says, "your mindwill attractthe samethings andthe nature ofthe message. Everything hasmultipleangles, so when you focus onsuccess, failure and frustrationare easy toget rid of.”

Many enterpriser or successful CEOs were interviewed and asked what their main catchphrases were and if it helped. Their answers were all positive. So the first step is to create your own positive catchphrase and to say it often so that it becomes your mind set. Then, every time after an intensive work day, if you remain at the “I am so tired” stage, it will spread pessimism and act as discouragement. Instead, facing the situation with positivity and optimism and saying “It will be better next time”, “Tomorrow is a new day” or “I am so blessed” to balance your negative thinking is a better way to go.  

In this article I will share many winning catchphrases from successful people as good examples to transform our attitudes.  

  1. “Do you see any empty seats?” was said while pointing at the chairs and is the catchphrase by Jeff Bezos, founder of Amazon. Usually when introducing a new project, most people will say “Can we reassess again?” Instead, Jeff uses this catchphrase to remind product managers that that these empty seats represent customers. It reminds his employees to take good care of the needs of customers and to do more than they expect. This catchphrase helped Amazon go through the internet bubble in 2000, the financial crisis in 2008 and helped reach many benchmarks for customers. 

  2. “Screw it! Let’s do it!” is the catchphrase of Richard Branson, the founder of Virgin Group, which comprises of more than 400 companies.  After serious, feasible assessments in a new venture project, he chooses open-mindedness to catch opportunities despite criticisms. This attitude of his has allowed him to open businesses ranging from fitness clubs to space traveling. 

  3. In general when people question your decision, most will defend themselves rigidly by asking where their mistakes are. Steve Jobs, founder of Apple, confronts the challenger and says in a provoked tone, “Prove to me why I made a mistake!” to show his passion, morale and to set the rules for the game. 

According to the research of Dr. Sian Beilock, a psychological professor in Chicago University, it was observed that students with positive catchphrase got higher grades than those with negative catchphrases because negative catchphrase like “I am nervous,” or “I cannot do it!” occupy the working memory in the brain and produce negative hormones that bring us down.   

As an educator, every time students have a request that is not academically related, we try not to say ‘no’ immediately, but may wait until we evaluate to see whether it is something that is within our abilities then answer them either by email or Facebook at a later date. Furthermore, we try to create an atmosphere where all questions are welcome by offering instant solutions on Facebook to any school questions in Math and English that students may have. Nowadays, in order to motivate students to have a good learning attitude, you must be able to resolve their questions as quickly as possible and guide them towards the right direction in terms of their thinking process. “No excuse” is the catchphrase that we use often when students forget to do their homework or when they make careless mistakes on tests. It trains students to build up their character with regards to responsibility and being more careful by double checking their work regularly.  

 

In the year 2011, a rather mysterious billionaire named Saitō Hito paid more than 120 million US in taxesaccumulated over the course of 12 years. He wrote a book discussing why there are hundreds of reasons for poverty and just a key to wealth, which is a top seller in Amazon Japan. He shared his catchphrases and keys to generate wealth. ”Justconsider yourself happy. You'll be able to, at thismoment,be ahappy person.” 

 

Catchphrases are self-fulfilled prophecies. A bad catchphrase is full of negativity and may lead to failure but a good one can take you very far in terms of happiness and success. In the next article, I will share some case studies with regards to catchphrases.  

  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

Copyright ©2019. SuperKids e-Tutoring - Montreal, QC, Canada