了解不同種類的智商

 

八年前,我們曾招聘兩名程式設計師,編寫SLE網絡教學軟件,一個在未來20年都很有用的軟件。面試包括兩部份,第一部份是測試申請人對7種不同編程語言的了解程度,第二部份則是申請人對自己的了解。每位申請人都被問同一個問題,在哈佛大學教授Howard Gardner提出的智力項目上,自己擁有其中幾項。(http://www.cse.emory.edu/sciencenet/mismeasure/genius/research02.html)

大多數接受面試的申請人,除了亞裔之外,都能回答出兩部份的問題。很顯然的是,亞裔申請人對於編程語言部份非常擅長,但是在第二部份,他們的回答就不那麼明確了。這意味這他們對自己並不是很了解,這有可能在未來團隊合作時出現問題。

Howard Gardner提出了8種不同的智力,這些智力是人人都有能力具備的。擁有多種智力的觀點是十分重要的,因為它使得教育工作者得以判斷學生不同的長處和弱點。這也和智力只能通過智商(IQ)來測定的觀點相對立。在研究智力上,我們發現Howard Gardner的多種智力理論(1983年),相較於普遍接受的智商方法,提供了一個更好的選擇。

八種智力的概括

1. 視覺/空間 ﹣ 包括對環境的視覺觀察,產生和控制心理圖像的能力,以及身體在空間的定位。

 

2. 口頭表達/語言﹣包括閱讀,寫作,說話,用母語或外語溝通。

3. 邏輯/數學﹣包括數字,計算能力,認知方式和關係,準時和次序,通過邏輯分析解決不同問題的能力。

4. 身體/運動﹣包括身體協調性和靈巧性,大小肌肉的運動技能,通過身體動作表達或學習。

5. 音樂﹣包括通過音樂和韻律運動,或舞蹈,或作曲、彈奏和指揮音樂,來理解和表達自我。

6. 人際交往﹣包括懂得如何與他人溝通,如何理解他人以及如何與他人合作。

7. 自我﹣包括理解自我內心世界的情感和思想,在控制內心世界和與它們相處中成長。

8. 自然主義者﹣包括了解動物和植物組成的自然世界,觀察它們的特點,進行分類;通常包括敏銳的觀察力和分類能力。

如今,一些MBA企管授士課程和心裡學家又提出了8種不同改良過的智力,包括情緒商數(EQ),逆境商數(AQ),創造力商數(CQ),溝通智商(CI),好奇商數(CQ),熱情商數(PQ),商業智商(BI)以及文化商數(CQ)。

 1. 情緒商數﹣指確認、評估和控制情感的能力,包括自我、他人或集體的情感。

2. 逆境商數﹣. Paul Stoltz博士將其定義為“一個人應付生活中逆境的能力,因此是人類適應能力的科學”。它告訴你一個人忍受逆境和戰勝逆境的能力。

3. 創造力商數﹣也叫做設計智商。創造力是指某種新的或有價值的事務被創造出來的現象。(例如一個觀點,一個笑話,一部文學作品,一幅畫或音樂作品,一個解決辦法或一個發明)

4. 溝通智商﹣在2007年,, Clare Munn和Maria Bello將溝通智商定義為:“表達和接受能力的智力”,是情緒商數EQ和智力商數IQ 之間的橋樑。在2011年,Alistair Gordon和Steve Kimmens將CQ定義為:“在正確的時間,以正確的方式,向正確的人講了正確的話,使得信息得以預期的效果被表達和接受。”

5. 好奇心商數:這是由一位作家和記者Thomas L. Friedman提出的,作為一個圖示公式的一部份,用以解釋個體如何被強烈地驅動去學習個人感興趣的主題,無論他們是否擁有特別高的智商。這個非數學的假想公式是[CQ + PQ > IQ],這裡CQ是好奇心商數,PQ是熱情商數。

6. 熱情商數﹣按照Friedman的說法,在當今世界里,每個人都可以接觸到信息,而全球化的市場將回報那些掌握了如何學習和如何自發地學習的人,在這種情況下,熱情和好奇心是教育中非常關鍵的因素。

7. 商業智商:這是一套理論,方法,建構和技術,可以將原始數據轉化成有意義、實用的商業信息。商業智商可以處理大量信息,以幫助確認和開發新的機會。利用新機會,實施有效的策略,可以提供有競爭力的市場優勢以及長期的穩定發展。

8. 文化商數﹣指文化智商,它的定義很簡單:“成功適應不同的民族、機構和各種專業文化的能力。”

因此,儘管傳統上認為,高智商非常重要,而在招聘的過程中越來越多的因素被綜合考慮。例如,一名畢業生想進入跨國公司,必須擁有高智商、高情商和高創造力商數。一些MBA課程十分強調學生擁有多元智力發展,為學生們提供通往成功的工具,例如送學生們去不同國家的辦事處實習,以提高他們的文化商數。

在下一篇文章中,我們將為學生們提供測試智力的機會,了解自己、了解自己的天賦,幫助他們弄清自己將來可以學習何種專業,或謀求何種職業。

  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

Copyright ©2020. SuperKids e-Tutoring - Montreal, QC, Canada

Understanding the different types of intelligence

Eight years ago, we were in the process of hiring two programmers to write our SLE e-tutoring software, useful for the next twenty years. The test was given in two parts. The first part involved how in-depth the applicant’s knowledge was of the seven different kinds of programming languages. The second part involved how well he/she understood him/herself. One question that each applicant was asked was how many types of intelligence he/she possessed from the list created by Harvard professor Howard Gardner. (http://www.cse.emory.edu/sciencenet/mismeasure/genius/research02.html) 

 

In general, most of the applicants knew their programming languages very well, but the types of intelligence that they possessed were minimal. This is extremely important as it will affect how well one works within a

team. 

Howard Gardner has identified eight different types of intelligence that each individual has the capacity to possess. The idea of owning multiple intelligences is important because it allows for educators to identify differing strengths and weaknesses in students. In researching about intellectual brilliance, it was found that Howard Gardner's theory of Multiple Intelligences (1983) provides a greater alternative to the more popular IQ method.  

Summaries of the eight types of intelligence: 

1. Visual/Spatial - Involves visual perception of the environment, the ability to create and manipulate mental images, and the orientation of the body in space. 

2. Verbal/Linguistic - Involves reading, writing, speaking, and conversing in one's own or foreign languages. 

 

3. Logical/Mathematical - Involves number and computing skills, recognizing patterns and relationships, timeliness and order, and the ability to solve different kinds of problems through logic.

 

4. Bodily/Kinaesthetic - Involves physical coordination and dexterity, using fine and gross motor skills, and expressing oneself or learning through physical activities. 

 

5. Musical - Involves understanding and expressing oneself through music and rhythmic movements or dance, or composing, playing, or conducting music.  

 

6. Interpersonal - Involves understanding how to communicate with and understand other people and how to work collaboratively. 

 

7. Intrapersonal - Involves understanding one's inner world of emotions and thoughts, and growing in the ability to control them and work with them consciously. 

 

8. Naturalist - Involves understanding the natural world of plants and animals, noticing their characteristics, and categorizing them; it generally involves keen observation and the ability to classify other things as well. 

 

Nowadays, there are another eight types of intelligence adapted by MBA programs and psychologists as described below:

 1. EQ -Emotional quotient is the ability to identify, assess, and control the emotions of oneself, of others, and of groups. 

 

2. AQ – Dr. Paul Stoltz defines adversity quotient as “the capacity of the person to deal with the adversities of his life. As such, it is the science of human resilience.” It tells how well one withstands adversity and his ability to triumph over it. 

 

3. CQ –Creativity quotient or design intelligence. Creativity is a phenomenon whereby something new and valuable is created (such as an idea, a joke, a literary work, a painting or musical composition, a solution or an invention). 

 

4. CI – Communication intelligence. CI can be described as the bridge between IQ and EQ and was defined by Alistair Gordon and Steve Kimmens in 2011 as "saying the right thing in the right way to the right people at the right time in a such a way that the message is received and understood as it was intended.”

 

5. CQ – Curiosity quotient is a term put forth by author and journalist Thomas L. Friedman as part of an illustrative formula to explain how individuals can be powerfully motivated to learn about a personally interesting subject, whether or not they possess a particularly high intelligence quotient (IQ). 

 

6. PQ – Passion quotient. According to Friedman, passion and curiosity are key components for education in a world where information is readily available to everyone and where global markets reward those who have learned how to learn and are self-motivated to learn. 

 

7. BI - Business intelligence is a set of theories, methodologies, architectures, and technologies that transform raw data into meaningful and useful information for business purposes. BI can handle large amounts of information to help identify and develop new opportunities. 

8. CQ – Cultural quotient refers to cultural intelligence, and a simple definition is as follows: “The ability to adapt successfully to different national, organizational, and professional cultures.” 

 

Therefore, despite traditional thinking that having a high IQ is extremely important, more and more factors are being considered in the hiring process today. In the next article, we will provide students with the chance to test their intelligence, to know more about themselves and their gifts such that they may figure out what kind of major or career they would like to pursue in the future. 

 

If more and more factors are being considered into the hiring process today, how valuable do you think having a high IQ is?

Which are the different types of intelligence that you have?

  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

Copyright ©2019. SuperKids e-Tutoring - Montreal, QC, Canada