事情太多而時間太少 

 

——淺談時間管理


文| Superkids教育與家教中心蔡宜哲


  我想跟大家分享幾個比較有意思的觀點:
  1) 在一個外科醫生的入學面試中,一個電玩遊戲老玩家因為雙手表現靈巧,而獲得了額外加分;
  2) 2005 CPL(虛擬網絡運動職業聯賽)世界巡迴賽是一項為時一年、獎金總額達100萬的電玩遊戲大賽,該賽事主要贊助恰是世界上最大的芯片製造商英特爾公司。
  3) 電玩遊戲也可以成為一項職業,其工作的主要內容是遊戲測試。

 

         蒙特利爾本地的VMC Game Labs就是這樣的一家企業,該公司的主要業務是電玩遊戲測試和質量控制。

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


  

        因此,和大多數人認為的相反,電玩遊戲其實也有其有益的一面,當然是在做到自律和良好的時間管理的前提下,而這正是我們今天要討論的主題。


  理查德‧勒科(Richard Leucke),一位哈佛商學院出版社的商業作家,曾經寫過8個問題,讓人們自省時問問自己(http://cawc.net/images/uploads/wcc/5-2-burrows.pdf):當你走進電梯時,是不是主動按關門鈕,而不是等候電梯自動關上?你的晚餐中是否有30%都是外賣或加熱即食的方便食品?你在開車時吃東西嗎?在這裡我只列出了3個問題,但是如果你的回答中有一個是肯定的話,那麼有可能在時間管理上你還需要提高。


  在日常生活中,人們很少談論時間管理的話題,可它在我們生活中相當重要的。時間管理實質上是一個人的平衡機會與責任的能力,把各項事情進行優先順序排列,和其他技能一樣,時間管理也是在實踐中培養出來的。時間管理的技能,應該從孩提時起就進行教育,並在生活中不斷地改進,它與我們的生活息息相關:學校、工作、人際關係等等。做事不要拖延,不逃避責任,提高做事效率,從而獲得更多的休息時間,這些都是時間管理帶來的益處。


  那麼如何才能培養時間管理的技能呢?首先,從幫助孩子建立事情的優先等級做起。在孩子們做每日的活動安排時,讓孩子們練習優先等級排序。給孩子們提供兩個選擇,看看孩子們怎麼做。例如,孩子有第二天要交的功課要做,同時有朋友邀請他去玩,應該先做哪一個?家長可以向孩子說明每種選擇的利弊,孩子們會慢慢地學會做出正確的選擇。另外一個良好的時間管理的例子,是億萬富豪沃倫‧巴菲特(Warren Buffett),他把一天計劃要做的事情列在單子上,然後從最上面一件事情開始做起,完成一個劃掉一個,再進行下一項。


  把手上的事務按重要性排序,人們已經談論得很多了,但有時要考量的不僅僅是事情的重要性。美國總統艾森豪威爾(Dwight D. Eisenhower)是一位時間管理的大師,他創建了一個以他名字命名的時間管理矩陣。他把事情按照緊急性和重要性來劃分,重要性是指一件事情對生活質量影響的程度,緊急性是指需要立刻關注的程度。通常,一件緊急的事並不一定重要,如果可行的話,我們可以委託給別人去處理。

 

 

 

 

        良好的時間管理是一項通過學習來獲取的技能,隨著年紀的增長越難學會此項技能。每一天我們擁有的時間都是一樣的,但我們面對的機會和任務卻在不斷增加。因此,儘早培養這個重要能力是很關鍵的。學會分析權重,哪些事情是需要立刻處理的,那些可以推後處理,這將有助於改進效率,並減輕生活中的壓力。查爾斯‧巴克斯頓(Charles Buxton)說過的一句話很恰當地詮釋時間管理的實質:「你不可能有時間做所有的事情,如果你需要時間,你必須創造出時間。」

 

  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

Copyright ©2019. SuperKids e-Tutoring - Montreal, QC, Canada

Too much to do with not enough time!                  

I’d like to share few more interesting points:

1. In a surgeon’s entry exam interview, a veteran game player gets extra credits for having dexterous hands.

2. The 2005 CPL (Cyber athlete Professional League) World Tour was a year-long gaming competition with the grand prize totaling 1 million US dollars. Its main sponsor happened to be Intel, the world’s largest chip maker.

3. Game playing can also become one’s profession with game testing comprising of the majority of the work.

 

One of these companies in Montreal is VMC Game Labs, a video game testing and quality assurance firm. Therefore, gaming, contrary to what many think, has its benefits, with self-discipline and good time management, the topic for this article. 

 

 

Richard Leucke, a business writer for the Harvard Business School Publishing once wrote about eight questions that people should ask themselves as self-reflection (http://cawc.net/images/uploads/wcc/5-2-burrows.pdf). When you get into an elevator, do you press the close button rather than wait for the door to close? Are 30 per cent of your dinners either take-out or heat-and-serve? Do you eat in your car while driving? Though I only mentioned three of those questions, if you answered yes to any of these, then time management skills probably isn’t one of your strengths. 

 

Time management is a subject that is rarely talked about but is of upmost importance. Managing time is all about balancing opportunities or responsibilities and prioritizing them and like any other skill, it takes practice. It is a skill that must be taught at a young age and constantly refined as it will affect all aspects of one’s life: school, work, relationships, etc. Elimination of procrastination and avoidance of tasks, more productivity, more time to relax and of course, the overall increase of time are just some of the benefits that come with proper time management. 

So what can be done to cultivate this skill? Early on, a good place to begin educating your child is to help them set up a hierarchy of priorities. Then, have your child practice using the hierarchy of priorities when they are planning how they want to spend their day. Begin by providing two options and seeing how he/she should proceed. If he/she has homework due for the following day and is offered to go over to his/her friend’s house to play, which task should be done first? By showing them the pros and cons of each, they’ll slowly pick up on the better decision. A good way of organizing time may be seen in how multimillionaire Warren Buffet lives his life. He lists all the tasks that he wishes to accomplish that day. He begins on the top of the list and doesn’t continue until the task has been completed and then crosses it off. 

Prioritizing the tasks at hand is something that we hear all the time, but sometimes importance alone is not enough to measure up. US President Dwight D. Eisenhower apparently was a master of time management and thus has a matrix named after him. It requires one to separate tasks according to their urgency and importance. Important means it will help one obtain the quality of life that is most valuable to them. Urgent just means it needs immediate attention. More often than not, the urgent tasks that we have usually are not very important and if possible, we can delegate them to someone else. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Managing time well is a learned skill and only gets harder as we grow older. The number of hours in a day does not change while the opportunities presented to us as well as our responsibilities keep on increasing. Therefore, early education on this crucial topic is vital. Knowing how to weigh options, which tasks need to be done immediately and which ones can wait as well as the effects it will have on the rest of the schedule can only help to improve productivity and create a more stress-free life. A quote from Charles Buxton puts it best: “You will never find time for anything. If you want time you must make it.”

 

Do we really have to much work?

Why is it that we can't make time for this or that and end up doing it late at night? Is it laziness?

  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

Copyright ©2019. SuperKids e-Tutoring - Montreal, QC, Canada