積極的思考方式與態度的力量 

 

        在過去的幾期文章中,我們談到了如何幫助孩子進行壓力管理和財富管理,專業學習的生存技巧,以及發現孩子天賦的重要性。孩子們能否有一個成功的未來,取決與對管理壓力、克服挫折感、減少焦慮、應對失敗的能力的掌握程度。
  今天,孩子們最應該掌握的能力是無法通過學校考試來驗證的。這些能力是學校或家庭嘗試教給孩子、卻沒有達到的:
  -大部分學校僅僅簡單地告訴你別擔心,但很少教給你如何管理壓力。
  -大部分學校可以交給你知識,但很少教給你智慧。
  -大多數學校告訴你努力學習才能成功,但很少會探討人生的意義。
  -大多數學校可能教會你溝通技巧,但很少教給你自信、了解自我以及人際間交往技能。
  -大多數學校教給你甚麼是對、甚麼是錯,但很少能培養高貴的品格。
  -大多數學校可能因為某位稱職的老師的原因,會激發你對某一學科的興趣,但很少教給你對人熱情、對事熱心和對物專注。
  從統計角度看,教育程度越高,得到的收入回報越高。然而,知識越多卻並不能保證成功。一個人從學校畢業後的繼續學習能力十分關鍵,孩子在學校裡的成績與他們在未來取得的成功並沒有必然聯繫。如果把學童未來家庭幸福、朋友的數量、參加課外活動的多少都算入為成功的因素之一,那麼他們未來成功與否更與學校的學習成績無關。
  下面我列出一些非常有用的評估方式,用來診斷學生在不同人生階段所處的情形:
  -數學恐懼指數,用於評估學生對數學的恐懼程度,並找到失敗的原因。
  -壓力診斷表,評估壓力程度。如果問卷的結果超過200分,表明他/她有嚴重的心理健康問題,需要看醫生。
  -焦慮評估表,了解焦慮程度,防止發展為抑鬱症。
  -婚姻婚前準備表,年輕人結婚前可以用此表評估他們為婚姻做好準備的程度,比如財富管理、保險、休閒規劃、置業規劃、養育孩子的計劃等等。
  有許多大學都提供相關的研習會,例如評估精神健康的程度,教你如何管理急躁、強迫症(OCD)等(http://www.concordia.ca/students/counselling-life-skills/workshops.html)。
  在Superkids夏令營,除了專業學習的課程外,我們也會介紹各種測試,如智商測試,情商測試,性向測試(http://www.queendom.com/tests/access_page/index.htm?idRegTest=3108)和大腦測試test(http://www.lumosity.com/)等,幫助學生學習及了解自己。
  大多數情況下,態度比性向重要。有一本書叫「你的態度決定你的高度」,其中有許多文章談到了如何保持一個正向的態度(http://sklein.hubpages.com/hub/Attitude-is-Everything-For-You)。我想談談積極思維的力量如何幫助孩子們。每個人都知道思想決定信念,信念導致行為,而行為則構成一個人的個性,最終決定命運。無論在甚麼樣的情形下,積極的思考方式可以帶給人更好的命運。


  曾有一位女孩不小心丟失了一只心愛的筆,傷心得臥病在床兩個禮拜。一名牧師來看她,牧師說:如果你不小心丟了1,000元錢,你會再有意地丟失2,000元嗎?」女孩回答說:「當然不!」牧師又問她:「那為何你不小心丟失了一只筆後,又有意地丟失了2個星期的快樂和健康?」女孩立刻醒悟了,從床上跳起來,她說:「我要馬上停止損失,我要去賺錢再買一只筆。」

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


  正向的態度是可以培養的。每位父母都可用下面的方法幫助自己的孩子,例如,如何生活中發生了負面的事情,例如自行車被盜了,應該怎樣應對呢?
  -我太幸運了,我只是損失了幾件世上的財物而已,而不是我的生命。
  -我希望那人急需這輛自行車。
  -下一次我會更加小心,換一把更好的鎖或報警系統。
  -也許該是換一輛新的更好的車的時候了。
  -可能是我讓某人妒忌了?也許我應該在公共場合保持更低調。
  -當存感恩的心,因為我不是個小偷!
  終究,有一些事情我們可以改變,有一些事情則超出我們的掌控。只要我們盡力了,一直保持樂觀和不斷學習的態度,我們終有突破時空限制的一天。◇

  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

Copyright ©2019. SuperKids e-Tutoring - Montreal, QC, Canada

The power of positive thinking and attitude

 

In the past several articles, we talked about many aspects in which we can help our kids including stress and wealth management, academic survival skills and the importance of finding their elements. Children, in general,can have successful futures, depending upon how well they can manage their stress, deal with frustration, their ability to reduce anxiety (stress management)and how well they respond to failure. 

Today, the most important abilities needed are those that cannot be verified through school tests. These abilities are those that the school or the family may have tried but failed to teach. 

  • Most schools may simply tell you not to worry but very few will teach you how manage your stress.

  • Most schools can teach you knowledge but very few can teach wisdom. 

  • Most schools will tell you to study hard in order to succeed but very few will talk about the meaning of life. 

  • Most school may teach communication skills but very few can teach self-confidence, knowing yourself and interpersonal skills.

  • Most schools may teach you the difference between right and wrong but few will nourish noble characters.

  • Most schools may motivate your interest in a certain subject due to quality teachers but very few can teach enthusiasm, passion and focus. 

 

From the statistics, having a higher education is generally rewarded with a higher salary but having more knowledge does not guarantee success. What matters most after graduating from school is one’s ability to continue learning. How well children study in school has no correlation with how successful they may bein the future. Furthermore, if we factor in a child's family happiness, numbers of friends and how often he/she participates in extracurricular activities as part of what we consider being successful there is almost never any connection with their academic achievement in school. 

Below I have shown different useful evaluations to diagnose the level at which a student may be at, at different stages of one’s life:

  • Math fear index to evaluate how scared a student is of math and to find the reason why he/she is failing.

  • Stress diagnosis table to evaluate the degree of stress. If a person calculates the result of a questionnaire and gets more than 200 points, he/she may have a serious mental health problem and needs to see a doctor. 

  • Worrisome assessment table to know the degree of one's level of worry to prevent depression. 

  • Marriage preparation table for a young couple before they go into marriage to assess their level of readiness in aspects like wealth management, insurance, vacation plan, housing plan, child plan, etc.

 

Many related workshops are actually offered in universities for example to assess one’s degree of mental health, to teach panic management, obsessive-compulsivedisorder (OCD) management, etc.  (http://www.concordia.ca/students/counselling-life-skills/workshops.html)

In our summer camp, besides our academic program, we also introduce various tests including the IQ test, EQ test, aptitude test (http://www.queendom.com/tests/access_page/index.htm?idRegTest=3108) and brain test (http://www.lumosity.com/) to help students to learn and know more about themselves. 

In most cases, attitude is far more important than aptitude. There is a book called “Your attitude will determine your altitude” and many articles talk about how one can get more of a better attitude. (http://sklein.hubpages.com/hub/Attitude-is-Everything-For-You)So I would like to talk about how the power of positive thinking can help your kids.  Everyone knows that thoughts lead to convictions, which lead to behaviors. These behaviors lead to personalities, which lead to fate. Positive thinking therefore brings one to a better destiny, no matter the circumstance.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A girl once accidentally lost her lovely pen that she was saddened such that she was sick and in bed for two whole weeks. A pastor came to visit her and he said, “If you lost $1000 by accident, would you lose another $2000 on purpose?” The girl replied, “Of course not!” The pastor then questioned her, “How come after you lost a pen by accident, you lose two weeks of happiness and health on purpose?”The girl was immediately inspired and jumped out of the bed.  She said, “I will stop the loss right away and I will try to make money to buy myself another pen!”

 

Positive attitude can be trained. Every parent can do the following to help your kids. For example, if something negative happens in one’s life, such as a thief stealing your bike, how could he/she respond with positive thinking? 

-      How lucky am I that I only lost a few worldly possessions but not my life!

-      I hope that this person was urgently in need of this bike. 

-      Next time, I will be more careful and change a better lock or alarm system. 

-      Perhaps, it is the time to get a new and better bicycle. 

-      Is it possible that I made someone jealous? Maybe I should stay more low key when in public. 

 

At the end of the day, there are some things that we can change and others that remain out of our control. As long as we all try our best, remain optimistic at all times and have a consistently great learning attitude, the sky is the limit. 

 

Why is it that sometimes you feel down, sad or somewhat depressed? Try finding the source and eliminating it.

  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

Copyright ©2019. SuperKids e-Tutoring - Montreal, QC, Canada