年輕人的財富管理

 

曾有一位畢業生問我,為什麼人們用30%,而不用0.3,這令我感到驚訝。這種缺乏常識的理解反應出我們教育體系存在的缺陷。學生們通常在中學一、二年級學習百分比和利息的概念。但是,學校裡的老師并不會教如何運用這些概念,學生們可能不明白其關聯性,也就不理解如何實際運用。百分比在日常生活中是非常有用的,比如買一件打折襯衣時,或者在餐館給小費時,都要用到百分比的概念。在本文中,我將探討財富管理的話題,以及如何利用銀行的單利或複利自幼來累積錢財。

一個人應該從什麼年紀開始學習財富管理呢?大多數的財富管理的書都認為,最好是在擁有了第一個1千元的資金時。剛開始時,可能還看不出大的區別。但是,統計數據表明,一個擁有財富管理技能的人,和一個沒有的人,在20年內就能看出巨大的差別。我曾經和一位40多歲的受過高等教育的人聊起財富管理的話題。他的回答讓我感到很有趣:他告訴我他沒有足夠的錢,所以從不考慮財富管理的問題。我明白了他沒有早些學到有關財富管理的知識。對此,我能做的就是祝他好運,因為他正在為自己年輕時的忽略而付出代價。

首先需要了解的利息概念,是關於單利和複利之間的區別,如下圖中所示。為了簡化,我以銀行中1000元存款和10%的年利率來說明。這只是作為參考,現在銀行的年利率只有2~3%,但在1994年年利率則有13~15%。

如果使用單利計算,5年內可以獲得的利息是$1000 x 10 % (每年) x 5 (年) = $500。也就是說,5年后,在沒有理財的情況下,最後資金為1500元。

作為對比,如果是複利,那麼5年后的利息收入則要比單利高。

 

 

概括地說,我們可以得到下列的複利計算公式

總金額=本金x (1 + 10 % ) n,  n =年數

在5年後,單利和複利之間的差別為$1610.41 - $1500 = $ 110.41   

那麼20年后呢?差別為:

1000 x ( 1 + 10 % ) 20  - [ 1000 + 1000 x 10 % x 20 ] = 1000 x 1.1 20 - 3000 = 1000 x 6.7275 – 3000 = 6727.5 – 3000 = 3727.5

作為使用指數函數的複利(中學5年級課程),與線性函數的單利(中學2年級課程)作比較,其優勢可以從下圖中看出。單利的計算公式是這樣的:總金額=1000 + 1000 x 10% x n (年)。用變數Y來代替總金額,用變數X來代替年數n,我們就可以得到一個新的線性函數的公式: 

  Y = 10 X + 1000   

另一方面,複利的計算公式如下:總金額=1000 x ( 1 + 10 % ) n, n =年數。這個公式也可以用指數函數的公式表示為:Y = 1000 x 1.1 X   

在我們這個以同樣的1000元本金和年利率10 %的例子中,隨著年份的增加,單利所得和複利所得之間的差距會越拉越大,在上述案例中,本金只有第一年存進的1000元。如果在每年增加1000元的存款、利率依然為10%的情況下,20年以後單利和複利所得差別非常大。另外一個更容易計算增長的方式是使用幾何級數,這是中學5年紀的知識。在下一期文章中,我將用同樣複利的概念,學習72黃金法則– 計算在多長的時間內讓你的本金加倍,  以及如何計算負債收入比,以及年收入/花費比,來判定是否能負擔得起買房。

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

Copyright ©2019. SuperKids e-Tutoring - Montreal, QC, Canada

Wealth Management For Young People                 

I was very surprised when a graduate student once asked me why we don’t use 0.3 instead of 30%. This lack of understanding reflects some flaws in our educational system. Students are normally taught the concepts of percentage and interest in secondary one or two. However, if teachers in school don’t teach about its applications, student may not know its relevance and subsequently know how to put it into practice. Percentages are extremely useful in daily life such as when calculating a rebate on a nice shirt or knowing how much tip to give the busboy. For this article’s purpose, I will focus on the topic of wealth management and how to save money in the bank using simple or compound interest. 

At what age should one begin to learn about wealth management? Most wealth management books indicate that it is best to start when one has their first $1000. One may not be able to tell a big difference early on. However, statistics have shown that big differences can be seen in 20 years between one with and one without wealth management skills. I once mentioned the topic of wealth management to a highly educated man in his mid-40’s. The response I received from him was quite interesting: he told me he didn’t bother with wealth management because he didn’t have enough money. It was then clear to me that he hadn’t learned about this topic early on. Therefore, all I could do was wish him luck because he was now paying for what he may have disregarded at a young age. 

 

The first concept of interest that one needs to know is the difference between simple interest and compound interest which can be seen clearly in the table below. To simply things, I used $1000 capital as deposit in the bank and a 10 % bank yearly interest rate to illustrate. Simply for reference, nowadays, the bank yearly interest rate is only about 2 -3 %, but in 1994 the bank interest rate was 13 – 15 % per year. 

By using simple interest rate In 5 years, one will receive $1000 x 10 % (per year) x 5 (years) = $500 interest.  

It means that after 5 years, one will have $1500 without managing his/her wealth. 

Contrarily, by using compound interest rate in 5 years, one will receive a higher interest. 

To summarize, the following formula for compound interest can be obtained:

      Total amount = capital x ( 1 + 10 % ) n,       n = number of years

 

In five years, the difference between simple and compound interest is 

            $1,610.41 - $1,500 = $ 110.41   

How about in 20 years? 

The difference will be:

1,000 x ( 1 + 10 % ) 20 - [ 1,000 + 1,000 x 10 % x 20 ] 

= 1,000 x 1.1 20  - 3,000 = 1,000 x 6.7275 – 3,000

= 6,727.5 – 3,000 = 3,727.5

  

The power of compound interest, which is the exponent function (taught in secondary five),vs. simple interest, which is the linear function (taught in secondary three), can be seen in the graph below. 

 

The formula of simple interest is the following: 

       Total amount = 1,000 + 1,000 x 10% x n (years).

By replacing the total amount as variable Y and in n years, n as variable x, one gets a new formula in the form of a linear function:

 Y= 100 x+ 1,000 

 

On the other hand, the formula of compound interest is the following:    Total amount = 1,000 x ( 1 + 10 % ) n,    n = number of years. This formula can be seen as an exponential function:

 Y= 1,000 x 1.1x 

 

The differences are much more obvious as the years go by, using the same bank 10 % yearly interest rate and deposit of $1,000 capital in the first year as an example.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In the case discussed above, there is only a deposit of $1000 in the first year. However if one deposits an additional $1000 every year, with the same 10 % yearly interest rate, the total amount he/she will receive after 20 years will be substantial. Another way to more easily calculate the growth is using geometric series, a concept taught in secondary five. In the following article I will discuss the same concept by using the golden rule of 72 to calculate one's debt to income ratio and one’s ratio of annual income vs. cost of house to see if he/she can afford to buy a house. 

If there is such a difference between simply using simple interest or compound interest, how big do you think the difference is when wealth management skills are used along side?

  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

Copyright ©2019. SuperKids e-Tutoring - Montreal, QC, Canada