在兒童早期培養領導力 

文| Superkids教育與家教中心蔡宜哲


  一般人都認為領導才能是與生俱來的,而非後天養成的。事實正相反,領導才能是培養和鍛鍊出來的。如果有合適的環境和機會,每個人都有成為偉大的領導者的潛能。一個人既不必很受歡迎,也不一定要非常有才幹,只需要很多的鼓勵,給予學習和日常運用領導技能的機會。

 

 

 

 

 

 


  那麼為甚麼一定要做個領導者?原因很簡單:你不可能一輩子都做一個追隨者。一個人可能不一定會在工作上做個領導者,但在家庭問題上則有可能面對這個問題。孩子是社會的未來,他們必須期望成為政府有效的領導者,或者在商業、教育等領域成為領導者。


  為了在家庭裡培養未來的領導者,應該在兒童早期進行培養。研究表明,一個人在幼年時間的經歷對成年後的領導潛質有重要的影響。據觀察,一些個人特質,例如理解他人及和他人相處的能力,渴望成就,自信和果斷,都受到兒童時期經歷的很大影響。父母的行為,對孩子能否在領導角色上發揮作用,也起了很 大作用。


  開發領導技能,和學習過程一樣,是一個持續終身的過程。溝通技能(書面、口頭、非語言溝通能力、傾聽能力),解決問題的能力,組織能力,靈活性和創造力,這些品質可以不斷地得到鍛鍊磨礪,而且在領導力中起著重要作用。在早期,父母在培養孩子上扮演了最重要的角色。當孩子們逐漸進入社會後,周圍的人會影響他們將來成為怎樣的人:學校老師,排球教練,甚至樂隊指揮。


  怎樣做才能幫助自己的孩子形成領導能力呢?
  下面是幾種培養孩子領導能力的方法。告訴孩子們你在做甚麼以及為甚麼這麼做,孩子們可以學會帶著目標做事,並由此產生相應的結果:
  - 從他人角度看問題,有同情心;
  - 用不同方式與他人溝通,知道當別人觀點與自己不同時該如何應對;
  - 讓孩子處於可以獲得成功和受到獎勵的位置,培養他們的自信;
  - 在解決問題時,讓孩子參與到決策過程,學會承擔責任和承擔後果,無論好壞;
  - 向孩子展示團隊合作的重要性,為大局的利益,討論、妥協和自我犧牲,而不是為了自己的得失。


  要成為一位強有力的領導者,是一項終身的任務,但說起來也很簡單,就是需要你不斷以身作則。我們可以看到,在今天的社會裏,大多數有效的管理者往往都不是命令型的,而是具有一種獨特的品質和人格,使得人們自然而然地被吸引到他的周圍。在下一篇文章中,我們將看看如何做一個是否擁有領導力的自我測試。

  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

Copyright ©2019. SuperKids e-Tutoring - Montreal, QC, Canada

Building leadership skills early on

It has always been thought that leaders are born naturally and not made. In fact, as opposed to common belief, leadership skills are nurtured and developed. Given the proper environment and opportunities, everyone has the potential to be a great leader. One doesn’t need to be the most popular, nor does he/she need to be extremely talented. All that is required is lots of encouragement and the chances to learn the skills and to apply them in everyday situations.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So why is it even important to be a leader? The reason is simple: you cannot remain a follower your whole life. One may not necessarily be a leader in his workplace, but when it comes to the household and the family, he/she will eventually need to step it up. Young children are the future of our society they must look forward to being effective leaders in government and all the other fields like business and education in the future. 

 

In order to raise a leader in the household, the nurturing should begin in early childhood. Studies have shown that early experiences in life have a major impact on adult leadership potential and occupancy. Some personal traits such as the ability to understand and deal with others, the need for achievement, confidence and assertiveness are seen to be influenced substantially by childhood experiences. Parental practices also take a major role in determining whether or not children were active in leadership roles. 

 

Developing leadership skills is really a lifelong process such as it is with learning. Communication skills (written or oral as well as non-verbal, listening), problem solving skills, organizational skills, flexibility and creativity are all qualities that could be constantly refined and are crucial in leadership. Early on, parents have the biggest roles in nurturing the kids, but slowly as they enter into the world, all the people around them will have a role in shaping their future: teachers at school, the volleyball coach, or even the band conductor. 

 

What can be done to help my child develop leadership skills?

 

Below are just a few ways to train your child to have leadership skills. By explaining to young children what you are doing and why you are doing it, they will learn to do things with purpose, which in turn may lead to outcomes.

  • Seeing things from another’s point of view; being compassionate.  

  • Communicating with others in various ways and knowing how to act especially when someone’s opinion is different from yours.

  • Placing them in positions where they can succeed and be rewarded for it; gaining confidence.

  • Being part of the decision making process in problem solving situations and learning concepts of responsibility and taking the consequences, whether good or bad.

  • Showing the importance of team work; discussing, compromising and sacrificing for the greater good and not for personal gains. 

 

Being a strong leader takes a lifetime to master but in short it simply involves practicing what you preach. As we can see in today’s world, most of the effective leaders tend not to be authoritative but rather show such a unique character and personality that others will naturally be drawn to it. In the next article, we will look at how each one of us can evaluate ourselves to see if we possess leadership skills. 

Why is it that you follow some people and not others?

What makes them so different ?

  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

Copyright ©2019. SuperKids e-Tutoring - Montreal, QC, Canada